Updated 3 days ago
Canva Craft is available in Dream Lab; its MCP connection remains planned

Canva Craft is available in Dream Lab; its MCP connection remains planned

Canva’s October 22 announcement puts Craft image generation in Dream Lab and describes a public API. Its specific MCP subsection is still labelled Coming Soon, with plan and credit allowances unspecified.

Dream Lab is the documented starting point

Canva’s [October 22 Craft announcement](https://www.canva.com/newsroom/news/canva‑craft/) introduces an image‑generation model developed by Canva Research. The company says Craft is available to Canva users globally through [Dream Lab](https://canva.com/dream‑lab), reached from the bottom‑left panel in the app. For a creator, that is the documented route to making an image inside Canva. The announcement does not specify each plan’s credits, generation allowance or pricing, so “all Canva users” should not be read as unlimited free use.

Canva describes planning and rendering as separate stages

According to the [company’s architecture description](https://www.canva.com/newsroom/news/canva‑craft/), Craft first turns a prompt into a composition plan: elements, spatial relationships, scale, hierarchy and text. A separate rendering model then turns that plan into an image, at up to 2K resolution across more than 30 aspect ratios. Canva also says users can choose a listed aspect ratio or enter their own. The source’s 2K label does not specify every output’s pixel dimensions, so it should not be converted into an invented width‑and‑height limit for all shapes.

Editable elements involve the Magic Layers workflow

The [announcement links Craft’s output structure to Magic Layers](https://www.canva.com/newsroom/news/canva‑craft/), which can transform a generated image into editable design elements. Canva describes JSON boundary boxing as part of that structure. This is a workflow for separating and revising elements; the notice does not establish that every image download is already a fully editable design file. Canva says prompts can be written in any language and that Craft can create text in 55 languages. Those are the company’s stated capabilities, not an independent test of text accuracy, layout or language quality. A finished design still needs review for its actual text, composition and intended use.

The API announcement and MCP status need different readings

Canva describes Craft as available through its public API for uses such as marketing platforms, e‑commerce sites, ad builders and print services. The linked destination is the general developer site; this report has not verified a Craft endpoint, credentials, rate limits or API pricing.

The availability paragraph groups the API and Canva MCP Server together, but the specific subsection is labelled “Canva MCP (Coming Soon).” That narrower status matters. It describes planned connections to AI assistants and automated workflows, rather than establishing that Craft generation through MCP is available from this announcement. The app’s Dream Lab route and the announced API should not be used as proof of MCP launch.

Upcoming variants and safety claims remain scoped to the notice

The [October 22 post](https://www.canva.com/newsroom/news/canva‑craft/) names Craft‑fast and Craft‑ultrafast as upcoming variants. It does not give their release dates or prices. Canva says Craft is covered by Canva Shield, including input/output moderation, privacy and safety controls, and reporting tools. Those are issuer‑described safeguards. They do not establish that a particular output is suitable for publication or that every intended use has been licensed. *Canva co‑founder and CEO Melanie Perkins at Web Summit in Lisbon, November 5, 2019. Archive company‑leadership photograph; not the Craft launch or generated output. Photo: David Fitzgerald/[Web Summit](https://www.flickr.com/people/74711243@N06) via Sportsfile, ©SPORTSFILE; [original publisher](https://www.flickr.com/photos/websummit/49018823468/), via [Wikimedia Commons](https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:2019_-_Centre_Stage_-_Day_1_DF1_8690_(49018823468).jpg); [CC BY 2.0 Generic](https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/deed.en). Resized and cropped for display.*

Share this article

PostShare

Related News